UK Subs: ‘Glastonbury was full of hippies. Just irrelevant’

Happy Birthday Charlie Harper the living legend and Godfather of UK Punk Rock. The first major punk band I ever saw in Gloucester over ten years ago. My dad also saw them way back in his youth, as did my another great man – my English Literature GCSE teacher. The best bands, the best fans, the best brews and the best times. It is shocking I haven’t seen them play yet this year as I normally manage four or five times a year. Still, I notice Swindon and Bristol dates are soon. Bring it on and see you all down the front.
“UK Subs frontman Charlie Harper turns 70 this week – and to mark the date, here’s a classic feature from Melody Maker, published in 1979. It’s taken from Rock’s Backpages, the online repository of vintage music writing” (http://www.theguardian.com/music/2014/apr/23/uk-subs-glastonbury-hippies-rocks-backpages#start-of-comments)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.