That joke was never funny

The very idea of Morrisey’s autobiography being published as a ‘Penguin Classic’ (at any time) would be so ridiculously laughable were it not seriously damaging to Penguin’s reputation, as many have pointed out, and simultaneously extremely insulting to thoughtful writers, readers and the book buying/borrowing public in general. Penguin also devalues the numerous genuine classics it presses with this ill-considered move. That joke was *never* funny as my friend Billy Liar would put it. I have heard nothing but derision from those who have bothered to read the book and have perused afew damning reviews elsewhere. Whilst I suppose I’d consider myself a ‘fan’ of his music up to a point, (The Queen Is Dead is a solidly decent record), I somehow think I will be leaving this particular volume where it belongs, in the bargain bins. Apparently, at one point Morrissey introspectively waxes lyrical about the philosophical implications of an episode of ‘Thunderbirds.’ – “They are, of course, animated puppets, yet they are as real as I am. But how real am I?” He has always been almost beyond parody but at this stage even the most diehard supporters of Moz must be checking the cover of the autobiography for signs of it actually being a satirical send up. Smiths Fangirls everywhere have to be disbelieving that this is genuine account and should be thinking more along the lines of – is *this* real? Pathetically, dear reader, I’m afraid it is.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.